Message From Founder and Patron

How much of your food are you literally throwing away? How much do you know about Hong Kong's food waste problem? In barely a year, we generate about 1.3 million tonnes of food waste. 1.3 million tonnes of food waste can fill up either 3,488 Olympic-size swimming pools or 65,408 lorries, each weighing 20 tonnes, which can queue the G4 Beijing-Hong Kong-Macau Expressway running from Hong Kong, Shenzhen and reaching Zheng Zhou. It is estimated that 1.3 million tonnes of food waste can feed 20 million people in hunger. In 2011, Hong Kong generated over 3,584 tonnes of food waste daily, accounting for about 40 per cent of municipal solid waste, and was disposed of at landfills every day. Hong Kong is running out of landfill space far earlier than expected. The disposal of food waste led not just a high cost of handling but a formation of methane, a potent greenhouse gas, imposing severe burden to our environment. Food waste in landfills also causes odour as it decomposes. Worst of all, food waste is a drain on natural resources.

Food For Good is neither a political advocacy group nor a pressure group. Food For Good aims to empower and inspire the community to enact positive solutions to the issue of food waste. We work with various non-governmental organizations, community organizations, food and beverage industry, housing estates, schools, industrial and commercial sectors and even more to mobilize a change of attitudes, habits and behavior in handling food waste and to promote a greener eating habit.

Reducing food waste conserves scarce natural resources, saves money and can fight climate change. HONG KONG IS OUR HOME that deserves our love and attention. Scarce natural resources shall not be further depleted. Act now and reduce our ecological footprints at once by wasting no food! Let us put food into good use and say no to food waste!

Mrs. Regina Leung


Message From Chairman

Food waste has increasingly become a critical issue in most of the richer cities of the world, including Hong Kong. The impact of food waste not only affects the economy but also the environment. The amount of food being wasted is tremendous yet there are still millions of people in the world living below subsistence level. People around the world became aware of and determined to tackle this issue.

Established in November 2012,Food For Good is a non-profit making organisation aims to promote a greener eating habit in Hong Kong. The Executive Committee of Food For Good comprises a team of specialists who are committed to the mission of facilitating the reduction of food waste through the redistribution of surplus edible food and recycling food waste.

Food For Good serves as a platform by engaging our strategic partners to take innovative and concerted actions to reduce food waste in all walks of life. We provide professional support and guidance towards the implementation of related projects on food waste reduction, and also referral of resources.

If you would like to know more about FoodFor Good, this website will definitely give you a more in-depth understanding ofour mission and works. Most important, you are welcome to contact us and embark on a new journey to a greener world.

Professor Joe Leung, MH, JP


Our Mission

Food For Good is committed to promote and facilitate food waste reduction in Hong Kong through redistribution of surplus food and recycling of food waste.

Our Work

  • To encourage a healthy and environmental friendly eating culture
  • To facilitate food waste reduction in Hong Kong
  • To promote the recycling of lunch box leftovers and the setting up of school gardens
  • To advocate the recycling of food waste and the setting up of community gardens in housing estates
  • To facilitate the setting up of community kitchens for redistributing surplus food to those in need
  • To promote a sustainable and environmental friendly management system for food and beverage industry

Governance Structure


Founder & Patron

Mrs. Regina Leung Tong Ching-yee


Advisers

Hon. Prof. Peggy Lam Pei Yu-dja, GBS, SBS, JP

The Hon. Mrs. Fanny Law Fan Chiu-fun, GBS, JP

Prof. Lam Kin-che, SBS, JP

Ms. Ip Shun-hing, BBS, MH, JP

Prof. Paul Tam Kwong-hang

Ms. Caroline Mak Sui-king, JP


Executive Committee

Chairman

Prof. Joe Leung Cho-bun, MH, JP

Vice-Chairman

Prof. Jonathan Wong Woon-chung, MH

Members

Mr. Yeung Ka-sing, GBS, JP

Mr. Simon Wong Ka-wo, JP

Mrs. Irene Yau Lee Che-yun


Sub-Committee Conveners

Regional relations

Ms. Diana Chen

Education

Mr Adrian Cheng

Housing Estate

Mr Martin KS Lee

Food and Beverage

Mr Daryl WK Ng

Food Recycling

Mr Michael Wu

Community Kitchen

Dr Joyce Tsang

發起人及贊助人的話

每日你會丟棄多少食物?你對香港的廚餘問題又有多深的認識?香港每年約有1,300,000公噸廚餘,足足可填滿3,488個奧林匹克標準泳池,又或載滿65,408輛20噸的貨櫃車,可以由香港沿着深圳的「京港澳高速公路」一直排到去鄭洲市。根據有網站的統計,那麽多大部份本來是食物的廚餘,足可以餵飽約20,000,000個飢餓的人。 2011年,香港每天產生約3,584公噸廚餘,佔都市固體廢物約四成之多,霸佔了堆填區大量的寶貴空間。香港的堆填區已接近飽和,源頭減廢刻不容緩。廚餘是有機廢物,是堆填區和垃圾車產生臭味的基本原因。大量廚餘不但導致處理成本增加,而且會產生甲烷,一種有害的温室氣體,嚴重影響環境。更令人擔憂的是,這些有機廢物會造成資源浪費。

「齊惜福」不是論政團體,更不是壓力團體。「齊惜福」的成立只是希望能帶給社會大眾一個正確處理廚餘的訊息,和珍惜食物的態度。我們與不同的團體,如非政府機構、社福組織、餐飲業、屋苑、學校、工商界等,合作推動處理廚餘的正確方法,改變現有的飲食態度及生活習慣,以及推廣綠色飲食文化。

【香港是我家】,大家生活在同一片天空下,我們應好好保護她。地球的資源有限,大家應立即齊齊起動,只要我們每人都出一分力,多一份關顧,香港會因你的參與而改變。珍惜食物,切勿浪費、人人都要齊惜福。

梁唐青儀女士


主席的話

在全世界富裕的城市,包括香港在內,食物浪費問題已漸趨嚴峻。其影響不單只是減低經濟效益,更會破壞環境,降低生活質素。現實中,世界上還有不少人生活在飢餓之中,而我們卻每天在浪費及消耗大量的食物。 尚幸社會對食物浪費的問題已開始關注,積極地採取有效行動並面對挑戰。

「齊惜福」為一間於二零一二年十一月才成立的非牟利組織,旨在為香港推動及建立一個健康惜食文化。 執行委員會成員均來自不同界別、各有專長,且有共同的使命︰致力推動回收、再用廚餘和分配過剩的食物,從而減少食物浪費。

「齊惜福」是一個協作平臺,鼓動我們的策略性伙伴採用創新及協調的行動,以減少各層面的食物浪費和有效地處理廚餘。 給予伙伴的工作計劃提供專業指導和支援,及資源上的轉介。

如果你關注食物浪費問題的嚴重性和急切性,希望這網站可以讓你更深入了解我們的宗旨和工作,更歡迎你與我們接觸,加入我們的行動。

梁祖彬教授,太平紳士,MH


我們的使命

「齊惜福」積極推廣減少廚餘。並將非食用的廚餘循環再造為有機肥料,亦推廣及推動綠色飲食文化。透過回收可食用剩餘食材轉化熱食,幫助無依老人及有需要人士,減少資源浪費。


我們的工作 

  • 推廣環保飲食文化,提倡珍惜食物,減少浪費; 

  • 支持及協助其他團體推行食物回收及廚餘再造計劃;

  • 推動及協助學校飯盒廚餘循環再造綠化校園計劃;

  • 提倡公私營屋邨屋苑實施廚餘循環再造,建立社區園圃

  • 建立社區廚房,協助食物回收,為老人及有需要人士提供餐膳服務;

  • 推動及協助餐飲業界實施環保管理,善用資源。


管治架構


發起人及贊助人

梁唐青儀女士


顧問

林貝聿嘉女士, GBS, SBS,太平紳士

羅范椒芬議員,GBS,BBS,太平紳士

林健枝教授,SBS,太平紳士

葉順興女士,MH,太平紳士

譚廣亨教授

麥瑞瓊女士,太平紳士


執行委員會

主席

梁祖彬教授,MH,太平紳士

副主席

黄煥忠教授,MH

委員

楊家聲先生,GBS,太平紳士

黃家和先生,太平紳士

丘李賜恩女士


專責小組召集人

地區關係

陳寧寧女士

教育

鄭志剛先生

屋邨

李家誠先生

餐飲

黃永光先生

食物回收

伍偉國先生

社區廚房

曾裕博士